The University of Newcastle

The University of Newcastle (UoN), informally known as Newcastle University, is an Australian public university established in 1965. It has a primary campus in Callaghan, a suburb of Newcastle, New South Wales. The university also operates campuses in Ourimbah, Port Macquarie, Singapore, Newcastle CBD and Sydney CBD.

Historically, the University of Newcastle Medical School has implemented the problem-based learning system for its undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine program – a system later mandated for use by the Australian Medical Council throughout Australia. It pioneered use of the Undergraduate Medicine and Health Sciences Admission Test (UMAT) in the early 1990s. UMAT has since been accepted widely by different medical schools across Australia as additional selection criteria.

The University of Newcastle is a member of Universities Australia and the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.


Area of Study

  • Accounting
  • Finance
  • Agriculture
  • Business Management
  • Computer
  • Engineering
  • Health and Medicine
  • Law
  • Science and Environment



  • Top 10 in Australia & Top 200 as per the QS World Rankings 2021
  • Eligibility for up to 4 years PSW
  • Access Scholarships and Experience a World-class Education with an Affordable Lifestyle
  • World-class University with a Strong Focus on Student Experience, Excellence in Teaching and Research.
  • High-quality Teaching and Learning as well as Exciting, Contemporary Academic programmes
  • The Fastest Growing University in the Country


Up to AUD 15,000


Feb, July


Fee Range

AUD 30,000 - 40,000


Newcastle , NSW

Institution Type: University